Page 1 of 1

Zodiacal Polarities

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 5:17 pm
by Jim Eshelman
In significant ways, each constellation is defined substantially in terms of its opposite, e.g., Leo being like Sun and unlike Uranus, Aquarius is like Uranus and unlike Sun. Within this polarity, each pair shares a common theme. Some of these themes are easier to articulate than others.
  • Taurus-Scorpio has a clear EROS-SEXUALITY theme, though each sign expresses this differently. The two signs act out the polar natures of Venus and Mars including such contrasts as settled and devoted vs. free and volcanic.
  • Virgo-Pisces is as obvious, with its REASON-UNREASON theme and such contrasts as curiosity (needing to know what is really so) vs. imagination (needing to invent what is so) or mystery (needing to live not knowing what is so).
  • Cancer-Capricorn involves SECURITY and PARENT themes. Both constellations are absorbed in SHADOW symbols, though in different ways.
The other three axes all have an IMPERIAL vs. DEMOCRATIC contrast by opposition of the egalitarian, inclusive, and democratic Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius with the aristocracy of Sagittarius, royalty of Leo, and autocracy of Aries. Additionally,
  • Gemini-Sagittarius shares EDUCATION and TRAVEL themes, contrasting something akin to innocence vs. sophistication.
  • Leo-Aquarius contrasts DIGNITY with ECCENTRICITY. Leo is one sun (one star) and Aquarius the uncountable stars: “one, distinguished from the many” against “the many, within which is one.”
  • Libra-Aries expresses RELATIONSHIP dynamics, especially contrasts of connection vs. isolation, compromise vs. solitary interests (we vs. I), peace vs. war. Both have rhythmic, cyclic equilibration themes, whether correcting extreme imbalances (Libra) or the gain-loss, rise-fall cycles of Aries.
These six polarities are more subtle than just stated. These notes are more to provide an opening for thinking about contrasts and similarities when you encounter them.

For fun and as an exercise, start thinking of simple stereotypes for easy social conversations about these Sidereal signs. I suggest composing these along sign polarities, both as a memory aid and for easy contrasts. For example, think in terms of devoted Taurus and volcanic Scorpio; playful and versatile Gemini and the rank and rightness of Sagittarius; emulating Cancer and discontented Capricorn; stately Leo and eccentric Aquarius; analytical Virgo and romantic Pisces; and ingratiating Libra and contrary Aries.

Re: Zodiacal Polarities

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 5:17 pm
by Jim Eshelman
It may be that, over time, we can identify similar summaries of the common themes of square signs. I could dash off several of these as starters, but I'm not sure I want to set them all down off the top of my head. Instead, I'll just create a spot here to possible fill these in over time. - The idea, of course, is to have an easier way to apply sign characteristics to these aspects in nativities. I will fill these in over time as I'm moved, and others should feel free to use this thread to discuss possible themes when squares occur in these sign pairs.

Hub Squares
Possibly these all theme to the inner and deep, a center about which the world turns. Positively: Child-like, with strength and confidence from being anchored solidly in their own center. Negatively: Childish, rebellious, disobedient, closed off to outside input.
  • Taurus-Leo: Childlike and generous qualities, psychological vitality, indulges comfort, "princess and the pea"
  • Leo-Scorpio: power, authority, command, competitive, combative, commands the field, lusty, moral courage
  • Scorpio-Aquarius: rebellious, needs freedom, innovative, provocative if not unconventional
  • Aquarius-Taurus: Intuitively, this seems creative, perhaps artistic, socially progressive with a natural draw to libido themes, a kind of crazy genius or alternative view.
Spoke Squares
Possibly these all theme to shooting out in all directions with multiple interests and endeavors. Positively: service, curiosity, thought, versatility. Negatively: scattered, distracted, divided attention, complaining, whining, touchy.
  • Gemini-Virgo: Mercurial themes
  • Virgo-Sagittarius: purity, precision (obsessive), academic, curious, respectful, conscientious
  • Sagittarius-Pisces: Belief and reward-punishment themes, maybe master-slave tensions, judgment, morality, theatrical, travel or wanderlust, idealism
  • Pisces-Gemini: various conflicts and contrasts: this one isn't clear to me, will need examples of the squares to study the themes, which probably emphasize mutability and generic spokishness - something game related
Rim Squares
Possibly these all theme to speed, motion, driving energy, and the surface or outer. A lot of money and business themes. Positively: drives movement, sets things in motion, manages, directs. Negatively: shallow, rigid, poor frustration tolerance, raw nerves, gets in trouble.
  • Cancer-Libra: administrative, driving business and money, administrative; in theory, includes home-domestic themes, though in practice I see the business-management-money themes more (seems more Jupiter-Saturn than Moon-Venus)
  • Libra-Capricorn: Likely Saturn theme, perhaps denial or deprivation at personal level in order to gain at a practical level (or the personal IS the practical).
  • Capricorn-Aries: Both are essentially libertarian, demands autonomy, independent, stoic. Similar animals butting heads in the bushes to get their way, tending material, maybe combative (struggling against tough odds?). Defies status quo unless they can own it. Emotionally withholding? Practical, cut to the chase on business.
  • Aries-Cancer: Seems a hard mismatch except for root Rim ideas. There is a family sense to both of them, but mostly they don't fit.

Re: Zodiacal Polarities

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2023 11:07 pm
by johnwilliams140197
Zodiacal polarities refer to the oppositional relationships between signs of the zodiac. The twelve signs of the zodiac are divided into six polarities, where each polarity consists of two opposite signs that complement each other. The polarities are Aries-Libra, Taurus-Scorpio, Gemini-Sagittarius, Cancer-Capricorn, Leo-Aquarius, and Virgo-Pisces. Each polarity represents a balance between opposing energies, such as self and others, inner and outer worlds, and individuality and collective consciousness. Understanding these polarities can provide insight into how to balance and integrate these opposing energies in our lives. I know a website through which you can talk to expert astrologers online. It is known as Anytime Astro.